The two U13 teams from the Weyburn Lacrosse Association had a good weekend in Prince Albert. They both would win four games and only suffered one loss. They would ultimately meet in the final, where the Weyburn Security Thrashers would avenge their loss to the Young’s Equipment Thrashers in the round-robin, capturing the provincial title.  

The Weyburn Security Thrashers would open up the tournament by playing the Saskatoon Hurricanes. Weyburn came away from the opening game with a 10-7 victory. Julie Labrecque led the way, scoring three goals. Deacon Frombach added two more, while Nash Missal, Cruz Carter, Yael Harriot, Simon Wawro and Felix Wawro also scored in the win.  

In their opening game of the tournament, the Young’s Equipment Thrashers played the Prince Albert Smokey Rivermen. Weyburn would dominate the game, outshooting Prince Albert 37-8, and went on to a 4-0 win. Harrison Baumgartner, Henry Riviere, Owen Eberle and Cohen Baumgartner scored for the Thrashers. 

The second round-robin game for both Weyburn teams would be against each other. The Young’s Equipment Thrashers would take an early lead, and held on to win the all-Weyburn match-up 4-1. Cohen Baumgartner scored twice, with Destan Ritco and Cooper Dammann also scoring. Deacon Frombach scored the lone goal for the Weyburn Security Thrashers.  

The Young’s Equipment Thrashers would open play on the second day against the Melfort Wings, who they beat 2-1. Cooper Damman would score in the third period to tie the game up, then Coy Scedahl would et the game-winner with seven seconds remaining to give the thrashers the win.  

The Weyburn Security Thrashers faced off against Prince Albert in their third game of the tournament. Deacon Frombach, Nash Missal and Ryder Stepp scored two goals each. Ivy Kraemer and Cruz Carter would add one more each as they beat the Smokey Rivermen 8-3.  

The Young’s Equipment Thrashers then played the Saskatoon Hurricanes and would double them up 4-2. Bentley Wilson would tally twice in the victory, with Owen Eberle and Destan Ritco also scoring.  

The final game of the round-robin for the Weyburn Security Thrashers was against the Melfort Wings. The Thrashers came out strong, and, led by a hat trick from Julie Labrecque, won 9-0. Deacon Frombach and Cruz Carter also scored twice. Simon Wawro and Ryder Stepp added a goal each.  

In the gold medal game, the Weyburn Security Thrasher would take the lead early and managed to hold off the Young’s Equipment Thrashers to win the gold medal. Harrison Baumgartner scored twice for the Young’s Equipment team, with Jep Furgason adding another goal. The Weyburn Security squad had two goals from Deacon Frombach, with Julie Labrecque, Nash Missal and Tommy Orr also scoring.

A lacrosse team wearing red jerseysThe Young's Equipment Thrashers came home with the silver medal. (photo courtesy Weyburn Lacrosse Association/