A Saskatchewan farmer from Nokomis is the new Chairperson for the Cereals Canada Board of Directors. 

Brett Halstead operates a mixed farm and serves as a director on the Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission, where he was previously the board chair.

Joining Halstead at the board table will be the Executive Committee - Adam Dyck (industry representative, Warburtons), who moves to the vice chair position, Jean-Marc Ruest (industry representative, Richardson International Ltd.) as secretary and Gregg Fotheringham (producer representative, Manitoba Crop Alliance) as treasurer.

Halstead replaces Jennifer Marchand, AVP, Cargill Limited will remain on the board.

Marchand is the government and industry relations leader, served the Cereals Canada Board as both director and vice chair before being elected chair in 2022.

Directors that will be leaving the board include Jason Lenz (Alberta Grains) and Glenn Tait (Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission), and industry representatives Tyler Groeneveld (Corteva Canada) and Chris Legge (Syngenta Canada).

Newly elected are:

  • Dean Hubbard, producer representative, Alberta Grains
  • Rob Stone, producer representative, Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission
  • Cami Ryan, industry representative, Bayer CropScience Canada (two-year term)
  • Jared Veness, industry representative, BASF (two-year term)

Members of the Cereals Canada board of directors will represent farm organizations and industry.