The Saskatchewan Public Safety Agency has enacted a fire ban for all crown land, all provincial parks, provincial recreation areas, and the Northern Saskatchewan Administrative District.  

The ban has been issued due to hot, dry conditions, high fire activity, and high fire risk that is currently impacting large portions of the province. The ban prohibits any open fires, controlled burns, and fireworks. It also includes any land within 4.5 kilometres of the provincial forest boundary.  

Areas affected here in the southeast corner of the province include Moose Mountain Provincial Park. There has been no word about bans being enacted in regional parks or within the Weyburn city limits.  

"We are making the decision to implement a fire ban to protect lives, communities, major infrastructure and resources from wildfire," SPSA Vice-President of Operations Steve Roberts said. "We are asking the public to take extreme caution to prevent wildfires during this time. This includes being cautious using all-terrain vehicles and to report a fire if they see a fire." 

There were 73 wildfires currently burning in Saskatchewan as of this morning. All of the reported fires are north of Highway 16.  

This year, there have been 302 wildfires in the province, a 76 percent increase from the five-year average.