The Mental Health Capacity Building Initiative is expanding this fall after a successful pilot project.  

Five schools will be added to the program, which promotes positive mental health in students, including Weyburn Comprehensive School. 

“We are pleased to expand this successful initiative into additional Saskatchewan schools, reaching more students in our province,” Weyburn-Big Muddy MLA and Education Minister Dustin Duncan said. “Providing additional mental health support in our schools is essential to provide a positive learning environment for our youth.”   

The Mental Health Capacity Building Initiative addresses recommendations outlined in Saskatchewan's Mental Health and Addictions Action Plan. The Government of Saskatchewan has invested an additional $800,000 in 2022-23 for the initiative, bringing yearly funding to $2 million. 

The five schools that were pilot sites for the initiative include Dr. Martin LeBoldus Catholic High School in Regina, Hector Thiboutot School in Sandy Bay, North Battleford Comprehensive High School and John Paul II Collegiate in North Battleford, and Greenall High School in Balgonie. 

The other schools included in the expansion are Churchill Community High School in La Ronge, Prince Albert Collegiate Institute in Prince Albert, St. John Community School in Prince Albert, and Dr. Brass School in Yorkton.