The Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission's (Sask Wheat) board of directors will look very different by early January.

Voting opened yesterday to fill four vacant positions on the seven-person board.

"I think that shows the interest in people wanting to serve as a director capacity and it's very exciting," Blair Goldade, the new Executive Director of Sask Wheat, said.

The six candidates on the ballot open until November 29 at 4 p.m. include Greg Brkich of Bladworth, Brett Halstead of Nokomis, Scott Hepworth of Assiniboia, Allen Kuhlmann of Vanguard, Jake Leguee of Weyburn, and Robert Stone of Davidson.

Voting packages have been mailed out by Sask Wheat to registered wheat producers who have paid a check-off to Sask Wheat in the previous two crop years (August 1, 2019, to July 31, 2021) and have not requested a refund in the previous crop year.

Results from the election will be unveiled in December with the four new board of directors being introduced at the Sask Wheat AGM on January 10, 2022.