The SJHL announced the finalists for their year-end awards Friday morning, and one Richardson Pioneer Weyburn Red Wings is being considered for the league’s Most Valuable Player. The nominees for the league’s year-end awards were voted on by coaches and media from across the league.  

Ryley Morgan, who has picked up 61 points in 49 games played, and has been instrumental in the team’s success since he was acquired in November, is the only player not from the Battlefords North Stars being considered for the SGEU MVP of the Year. The other nominees for the league’s MVP award are Kian Bell and Holden Doell, both from the North Stars.  

The RBC Player of the Year nominees this year are Bell and Doell, as well as Flin Flon’s Cole Duperreault. There is one nominee from each division for the Federated Co-op Most Sportsmanlike Player – Kindersley's Tylin Hilbig, Jaxon Martens from the Melville Millionaires and Nipawin Hawk Zander Stewart. 

The Defenseman of the Year nominees are Battlefords’ Tynan Ewart, Daylan Weigel from the Humboldt Broncos and Stewart. The SaskTel Goalie of the Year nominees include Cam Hrdlicka from the Estevan Bruins, Josh Kotai of the North Stars, and Dawson Smith from La Ronge.  

The DirectWest Rookie of the Year honours will go to either Riley Ashe from the Melfort Mustangs, Humboldt’s Carsten Kayter or Dylan Ruptash from Yorkton. And the Saskatchewan Construction Safety Association Coach of the Year nominees are Brayden Klimosko from the North Stars, Nipawin’s Tad Kozun and Mike Reagan, the bench boss of the Flin Flon Bombers.  

The winners of the awards will be announced next Thursday on SJHL Insiders.