The 10th Weybex Awards, a Weyburn tradition of 19 years, saw local businesses and business owners recognized for their outstanding excellence in the community last night. There were 7 acolades presented throughout the evening, honoring the successes and virtues of these local institutions throughout the years. 

Following the outstanding recognition presented to them at the 2018 Gala, Ryan and Patti Skjerdal were celebrated once again with double honors presented to MegaDry Disaster Restoration at this year's event. MegaDry received the Business of the Year award as well as the New/Expanded Business award. 

"I've got to thank my team. These guys are just unbelievable. We work in of the one of the dirtiest industries, and they clean up pretty good!...From the bottom of my heart you guys, I truly thank you."

During his acceptance speech for Business of the Year, Ryan Skjerdal went on to say, "I truly believe, to anyone in the crowd, if you ever want to start your own business; Take it on! It is unbelievably inspiring, and powerful. It's one of the best decisions I've ever made."

With that final award, the 10th Weybex Awards Gala concluded at Mckenna Hall for the first time since 2018 due to previous COVID-19 restrictions. 

The 6 categories of awards presented that evening were as follows:

New or Expanded Business

-Presented to MegaDry Disaster Restoration

Business Hall of Fame

-Presented to Miller Well Servicing

-Presented to Weimer's Hometown

Golden Service

-Presented to Maurer's Meats

Community Involvement 

-Presented to Farm Credit Canada, Weyburn Office

Business Leader of the Year

-Presented to Bill Vollbrecht

Business of the Year

-Presented to MegaDry Disaster Restoration


Below you can listen to audio from 1) Business Hall of Fame inductee Miller Well Servicing's Bruce Miller; 2) New + expanded business award winner  MegaDry's Ryan Skjerdal ; 3) Golden Service Award winner Maurer's Meats' Yvonne Wagner; 4) Community Involvement Award - Farm Credit Canada's Jeff Walkeden; 5) Business of the Year award winner Mega-Dry Restoration's Ryan Skjerdal ; 6) Business Leader of the Year winner Bill Volbrecht; and 7) Business Hall of Fame inductee Weimer's Hometown's Brent Weimer